Networking - CSS Checking

A simple and easy to use desktop application.
Go to content
Networking

All of our applications are 'Network Aware' and can be used in a networked environment.
This allows several users to work on this program at the same time.
Safeguards are in place to keep two users from editing the same record at the same time. A warning is presented to the user that the record has been changed by another user and offers the option as to which edit to accept.

To use the application over a network you need to install the application on a Server. The server can be any Windows based comuputer with a network connection to your local network. This pc can be any Windows operating system even XP to 10.
Once the application is installed on this 'Server', called this because is 'serves' the application to the other users computers, the directory where the application has been installed has to be Shared so that the user group Everyone has read wright access.

Then go to the individual users computers and Map a Network Drive to the server's shared directory.
For Example
Then open that location in the users computer, find the CSS Checking.exe file and with your RIGHT mouse button drag and drop the CSS Checking.exe file to the users desktop, release the mouse button and select 'Create Shortcut Here'
Once this is done, double click on the icon which has been created and you should see the program start.

If it does not start, try it again this time use the other RIGHT mouse button!

No User at Logon
Security Setup Help

This file will help you with setting up your users when you first install one of our applications requiring a login and password.

The first step is to insure all of your users are accessing the same set of data files. During the installation you need to select a Shared Network Location. If you are installing the application on the server from which the application will be run, select a drive and directory on the local server where you want to place the application. In the example on the right, select a location, if you want to change the default location, by selecting the Browse Button and either typing in the new drive and directory or navigate to the correct location. Then click the Next Button. You will then have to share the folder so users of the application can access the directory.
If you are going to install the application onto a different computer, click the Browse button and either type or navigate to the correct location, then share the folder on the server.
NOTE: You must first map a drive on your local computer to the share on the server where you want to install the application

For example: X:\sharename\directory_name

If the directory_name does not exist it will be created

Note: You can name the directory on the shared location anything you want to, for example...CheckBook we suggest you use the default location it may make it easier to receive updates.

When you first start the application you will see the message 'No users exist for this Application...Do you want to add a new user?' Select Yes                          

When you select Yes you will be taken to the next screen.

On this Update Users Screen enter the users First and Last (Surname) name.

In the Login field enter the name the user will use to Login to the application. This will also be the users password.

It can, and should, be changed after they have successfully logged in.

NOTE: The applications do not enforce strong password rules. If you want to have strong passwords contact us and you will get a new application to download.


After clicking OK on the previous screen you will be presented with the User Login Screen, enter the Login name for both the Login and Password Fields, you will be granted access to the program.

NOTE: The first user assigned will be given Supervisor Rights.

When a user logs in they can be classified into one of 3 possible Levels.
The Level with all the power is called a Supervisor.
The Level with no power (in fact they will be denied access) is called No Access.
In between, where a user has potentially limited power, they are allocated a Level called Operator.
The difference between a Supervisor, and an Operator is obviously a significant one. Simply put, a Supervisor is allowed to change the security access rights of other Users. An Operator can not change either their own, or anyone else's, Access rights.

See Access Rights for a complete description.
Set Access Rights
 
While the Operator Browse screen lets you set access rights to the whole program, The Set Access screen allows the end user to limit access to specific controls, and windows within the application.

To add Security select File/Administration/Browse Users
Then selece Insert at the bottom of this screen

Here, just like when you started the program, enter the user's First Name, Last Name (Surname) and Login also called UserName.
 
For the purposes of this lesson, enter:
First Name: Test
Surname: User
Login: testuser
 

Select Operator and All Access from the dropdown menu.
Select 'Ok' and you will be taken back to the Browse User Screen with this new user added.

 
Select User Group Details
 

Enter the User Group Name as Employee
and select All Access from the Default Access dropdown list
 
Select Ok and you will see the User Group has been added
 


The  actual access rights are set by you on specific screens in the program. You will do this by pressing Ctrl+F8 on the screen with Security Access...more on that later.

In order to set security rights you must be logged in as a supervisor. Although any user can be a Supervisor we suggest only one person have this access. It will only have to be set one time and 'ordinary' users should not be able to change these settings.

By going to any window with the User Screen Security extension enabled, and pressing Ctrl-F8, you will get the Set Access window. This window will have a list of the Operators on one side (Users with No Access, and Supervisors are not listed). User Groups will also be listed, and users already assigned to groups are not listed.

The list takes the form of a spreadsheet, with the names on the left, and the access rights on the right. By simply double-clicking on the displayed rights, access can be changed from Yes to No. Closing the screen is done by clicking on the Close button.

So if the user wishes to stop users Deleting his Customers, then simply by going to the Customer Browse, and pressing Ctrl-F8, he can limit the access to the Delete button.
 
For example, in the Reports Manager window you will have the ability to allow or deny the Employee Group to Access Reports, or Administer Reports, that is Create and Delete them.

 
208 Wooldridge Margaret
Roswell, NM
JackR@CorpSupportServices.com
Corporate Support Services
Back to content